Testing Facebook Apps

I am a zealot when it comes to testing, so naturally the idea of updating an app and crossing my fingers hoping it will work is unacceptable.  I was tempted, for a moment, to write a Facebook simulator/container webapp for testing my Facebook apps under development.  Then I got wise and decided to simply set up a new, legitimate, Facebook app for the sole purpose of testing an app under development.

 

I’m rather proud of this little hack, since I even figured out how to get Facebook to talk to my app under development on my development machine at home.  (I used a combination of ssh remote port forwarding and Apache proxying.)  With a few tweaks I can point to any of the apps under development.

Leave a Reply

